To register for admission into Year 7 in September 2023, please complete this form. Where possible, please could parents register their children by early July to allow us time to process the applications before the Summer Holidays. The final deadline is August 12th 2022 - Our Open Evening this year is July 13th 6-8pm

2021 – Year 9 History Balloon Debate

Posted on 15th July 2021

There was an impressive standard and range of individuals chosen by our finalists in the History Balloon Debate this year. Nine finalists elected by their peers from their form heats, delivered notable and persuasive speeches as their chosen historical characters vied for a place in a sinking hot air balloon. The reward of House Points for the winning trio and the Harling Cup at Awards Evening for the overall winner hung in the balance. Mr. Croft and Mrs. Dowthwaite (via Teams) judged the competition which took on a slightly different format in this Covid year. Congratulations to all our finalists and thank you to Mr. Croft for his preparation work with students and his smooth running of the event on the day.

The winning students were:

First place:                Alice Fearn (Hansard) as Phil Knight

Second place:          Edith Green (Rawlinson) as Stephen Hawking

Third place:               Ayla Jafri (Rawlinson) as Winston Churchill


Our other finalists were:

Daniel Albert Lammin (Hansard) as Christopher Columbus

Jaipreet Mattu (Hansard) as Martin Luther King


Isabelle Catley (Ayscough) as John Locke


Harry Cowan (Rawlinson) as Augustus


Ibitayo Salawu (Hansard) as Ralph Baer


Peter Jackson (Ayscough) as Margaret Thatcher