Headmaster’s Letter 29th March

Posted on 2nd April 2019

Dear Parent,

Student Leadership

It was a difficult choice deciding upon the six students to become the Senior Prefect Team! I am pleased to announce the six students that have been selected after a two stage process. I am immensely impressed with the 24 students, just under a third of Year 12, who put their names forward. And it was good to see that they all had welcomed the team’s restructuring to have a senior prefect team that was free from gender restrictions. Moreover, we have given each student a specific role to ‘champion’. The roles include mental health, student voice and e-safety. The team are as follows (in alphabetical order):

Head Girl: Anna Carter

Head Boy: Will Gale

Senior Prefect Team: Jyothi Cross

Francesca Hannath

Aimee Mason-Lynskey

Jack Swain

As well as Senior Prefect Team, today, Year 12 students have selected their house officials for the next year. My congratulations to them on their achievement. I wish them success as they work with their respective Heads of House (Mrs Cooke, Miss Dales and Mr Markham) as they look to provide students with a range of fun, competitive activities that help to develop relationships between year groups. As ever, Mr McTernan does a first class job to keep everything on the road.


CaptainsHarry Wilkins,

Ellie Shepherd

Alice Ward,

Toby Hibbert

Ewan Martin,

Lili Gregory

SportsLucy Cullen,

Matthew Savage

Emily Barratt,

Michael Durham

Lizzie Dee

Oliver Levitt-Allen

Performing ArtsLibby Tasker,

Oliver Sullivan,

Maya McCann

Henry Montgomery

Emily Oldridge

Josh Hughes


Young Enterprise
Our two Young Enterprise teams were in Lincoln on Wednesday night representing the School at the Young Enterprise Lincolnshire Final. Signa won best presentation and Hey Happy best customer service. Thanks to Mr McTernan, Mrs Hughes and Mrs McKinsley for not just taking them but supporting and guiding them through the process. Signa, who made Tote bags, were: Xander Ashley-Turner, Ben Dawson, James Bushby, Kate Jennings and Toby Hibbert. Hey Happy, who produced a mental well being book for primary school students and held stress ball workshops, were: Tyler Pickerden, Jennifer Ketley,Guy Lyons, Tom Baslington, Nathan Sharpe, Eoin McHale, Fadwa Al-Moasseb, Oliver Sullivan,Anna Carter and Christopher Cook.


Year 11 Football
Commiserations to the Under 16 Football team who were beaten by their nemesis Carre’s Grammar School in the County Cup Final in Lincoln on Wednesday. In a closely fought game, the team lost 2-1. Carre’s were finalists in the national tournament this year so it was a respectable result. I, along with several parents watched from the touchline. I was impressed with the boys’ sportsmanship, respect and the support that they gave their team mates. These are qualities that I aspire to see as the norm at School. It is also worth noting that we’re reaching the end of the season for several School teams and for some students in Year 11 in particular, it might be the last time that they represent the School in this context. I want to thank them first of all for their commitment to School and secondly to acknowledge the way in which they have been proud to wear the shirt, and have given their best. I have also been impressed with the way in which Sixth Form students have supported fixtures. This week, we had a large volume of girls’ fixtures against Winterton (results below).Emily Barratt and Verbena Sajjad assisted with the netball. Ellie Shepherd helped with the hockey.

I recommend you take a look at the Target careers Futurewise website. (Enter that search into Google). They are holding a range of workshops in London over the Easter holiday for students considering careers in Engineering, Finance, Media, Law, Physics & Aerospace. (Please note that I am not endorsing this service, simply making you aware that there are opportunities to explore for students.)

Well done to Josh Knapton (Y11) who, as well as playing at junior county level for Lincolnshire, is also playing for Scunthorpe 1st team.

End of term
We finish for the Easter holidays on Friday 5 April, and like other Caistor schools, we finish at 2.30pm. All service bus will depart earlier except for the LCC/Dents bus service which runs through Osgodby, Middle Rasen and Market Rasen. This service bus’ timetable does not change on the last day of term. We can accommodate students on that bus service in School until the normal finish time of 3.45pm. Please inform the office if you wish to take up this offer.


Yours sincerely
Alistair Hopkins