To register for admission into Year 7 in September 2023, please complete this form. Where possible, please could parents register their children by early July to allow us time to process the applications before the Summer Holidays. The final deadline is August 12th 2022 - Our Open Evening this year is July 13th 6-8pm

Headmaster’s Letter 9th March

Posted on 9th March 2020

Dear Parent,

House Drama

I hope that those who made it to the Town Hall last Wednesday revelled in the outstanding work of those students who dedicated hours to the House Drama Competition. Hansard won with their very reflective interpretation of Disney/ Pixar’s film ‘Inside Out’, the story of Riley and her burbling emotions when she attends, against her will, (shock, horror!!) Caistor Grammar School. We also saw performances of ‘Cinderella Gone Wrong’ (Ayscough) and ‘Ratatouille’ (Rawlinson). These are the events that the students will remember about their time at CGS! Mr Harris, Mr Robinson and Miss Mottram, along with the Heads of House, Mrs Cooke, Mr Hargreaves and Mr Markham, have worked tirelessly supporting younger students. Another group have also worked with the students rehearsing and directing their plays are, in no particular order, the following Year 12 students: Charlotte Morton, Florence Stead, Aidan Parker, Ross Greenwood, James Hare, Isobel Laycock, Rory Longcake, Imogen Horton, Ellie Brook, Lewis Stevens, Rio Rawlings, Toby Barnett and Elena Sedman. Of course, the Year 13 House Performing Arts Captains deserve a mention too: Oliver Sullivan, Libby Tasker, Josh Hughes, Emily Oldridge, Henry Montgomery & Maya McCann. Their work before Christmas brought about three very well crafted, flowing and witty plays.  I am also grateful to our two judges, directors and actors Deborah West and Cathy Bennett-Ryan of Grimsby’s Caxton Players who supported the competition for the third year in a row.


The Senior Prefect Team’s week begins today. They have taken as their theme ‘Stress-Ed’ and throughout the week, they will be exploring the topic of stress as well as offering several strategies to combat stress through the joys of therapy dogs, making stress balls or just enjoying a hot chocolate and a chat with friends. The team are coming to the end of their year, and this is the culmination of their efforts and the establishment of their legacy. The hustings for the new Senior Prefect Team are held on Wednesday afternoon.

Well-being and PSHE

A new page was added to the School website last week to give students and parents guidance about the many ways in which well-being is supported and promoted in the School. I hope the page is informative, telling you what we do in School through our PSHE programme and offering your children a variety of strategies, including physical activities, to look after their well-being. It has been published in the student section of the website because it is primarily for students. You might, however, find some of the advice useful too.

Intermediate Maths Challenge

Congratulations to the following students who have been awarded prizes in the Intermediate Maths Challenge:

Gold: Will Whitton*, Jack Dowthwaite*, Oliver Stork*, Sheron Jeevakan*, Nicholas Bridges*, Alice Cross*, Beth Roberts*, Harry Parker*, Sophie Brennan*, Kieran Green*, Lukasz Grab*, Alistair Brookes*, Thushi Thulasiraj*, Kiana Matthews*, Abigail White* & Alston Rodrigues*.

Silver Certificates: Zamin Ali*, Mia Chong*, Vaanujan Vasuthevan, Saqib Jajja, Ethan Beckett, Max Murray, Oswin Khoo, Abigail Burkill, Oliver Niles, Elspeth Jolly, Robert Kneale, India Brand, Holly Bradbury, Reuben Heywood, Jake Chacko, Luke            Mason, Cindy            Bazoua, Owen Noble, Rojel   Varghese Tiann Wong, Benjamin Hughes, Isaac Dunn, Neha Elangovan, Ella Clark, Rhianna Humphrey, Adrian Natividad, Chris Allen, Jessica Cheung & James Gale.

Bronze Certificates: Caitlin Miller, George Lingard, William Payne, Ellis Clark, Siddharth Kamath, Fareedah Salawu, Hala Aabed, Eve Hewitt, Daniel Stevens, Harry Nickels, Benjamin Scott, Sanaya Kurukula, Alfie Richards, Amicia Harris, Kaajal Gupta, Raneem Jaibaji, Heidi Warne, Jeet Meher, Dominic Biboso, Katie Brewis, Samuel Newton, Ayaan Cheema, Callum Miller, Thomas Batley-Harkness, Tyla Redhead, Robin Smith, Yash Gandhi & Sajinth Sakthitharan

An Asterisk * indicates students have been selected to compete in the next ‘Kagaroo’ round

Chemistry Olympiad

The following students have been awarded their grades for the Chemistry Olympiad which Mrs Leaning, the Head of Department, coordinated last half-term.

Gold – Guy Lyons

Silver – Lizzie Dee, Alistair Glossop, Pawel Grab (Y12), Toby Hibbert, Grace Holmes, Verbena Sajjad & Harry Wilkins

Bronze – Lewis Beighton, Rosemary Brader, Owen du Bedat, Michael Durham, Amelia Emerson, Eleanor Hills, Saffat Hossain (Y12), Eleanor Schofield, Olivia Smith, Lewis Stevens (Y12) & Jack Swain

It is a particularly impressive achievement for the Year 12 students as they had only been studying A level Chemistry for a term at the time of the Olympiad.

Race Night

The Friends held their Race Night on Friday in the school dining hall. About 40 people attended. A little over £300 was raised. Thanks once more to all the effort that goes into supporting the School as well as their role in creating a network for parents to meet up. Parents will have received the raffle tickets for the summer draw on Friday, courtesy of the Friends. Earlier today you will have received the latest Friends newsletter, which explains how the summer raffle works and highlights more forthcoming events.

Congratulations to…

Tyla Harris (Y7) won his Junior TKM carting category at the Rowrah karting circuit in the Lake District. Chloe Watson-Bryans (Y7) whose dogs were awarded a second and reserve (third place) in her classes at Crufts last week.


All good wishes for the week ahead,

Alistair Hopkins